Electric Blue Rams

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Jebbwardo

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
my ph is 6.5, my ammonia is 0.50ppm, my nitrite is around 0.5-0.10, my nitrate is around 40ppm but i have no fish so dont mind about the nitrate at the moment i will just do a water change. my water is at 82 degrees too.

am i doing okay as this is my first tank i will be getting the fish in a week and was wondering if my water is okay? i know the nitrate isnt okay but i havnt got no fish in at the moment anyway, i am getting 2 electric blue rams to breed, i have gravel substrate and around 40 plants in the tank with yorkshire slate and a synthetic slate ornament my filter is a fluval 4 plus i have second hand sponges in and would like some advice as im new to this.

Well, you'll need to properly cycle your tank; rams can't cope with any trace of either ammonia or nitrite.

What is the level of nitrate in your tap water?

Oh, and the hardness? Rams really do need soft water to thrive; that's far more vital than pH.

I'm worried you're having to use a buffer to get the pH down. That would imply that your water might be quite hard, so any pH changes you make are likely to be temporary.

i know and i am not going to put the fish in until they both are 0. i dont know the levels but i will check now and will my plants lower the ammonia and nitrite and nitrate?

I would be doing a proper fishless cycle, adding ammonia.

Just reducing the levels in the tank by water changes and/or plants won't cycle your filter.

The problem is that Electric Rams are VERY sensitive fish so would not be suitable for a fish in cycle of any kind (even when taking into account the info in the thread you have linked) you may get away with some hardier fish but not EBR.

Just my honest oppinion.

I agree.