Easy to grow and cheap plants?

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Ozzie Boss

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I am new to keeping live plants so I wanted to know peoples opinions on easy to care for ,low maintenance, plants that won't break the bank. The tank will be a 50 gallon. (36 L, 18 D, and 18 H) I will be using sand as a substrate if that makes a difference. The fish will all be tropical.

Some plants that I had in mind where Amazon swords and Jungle val.

Good plants to try include: Ambulia; Hygrophila costata, polysperma, ruba; Elodia/ Hydrilla; Ludwigia species; narrow Vallis; Water Sprite (Ceratopteris thalictroides/ cornuta).

Jungle Vallis is normally giant Vallis and doesn't do well in aquariums. The smaller types of Vallis usually do better.

Thanks for the suggestions. I want to try Ambulia, Hygrophila Costata, and Ludwig Palustris. What type of light should I use for these plants? (Again a cheap but effective light would be greatly appreciated) Do I need to trim these plants if so how often? And what other maintenace should I be aware of? Thanks.
:thanks:

Any fluorescent light with a 6500K rating should be fine for the plants. You can buy them from hardware stores or lighting stores but hardwares are usually cheaper.

If you have a light unit above the tank just get a globe to go in it. If you don't have a light unit then you can buy one from a hardware or pet shop and just add a globe. Get a light unit that runs the full length of the tank. You can also get twin fluorescent light units and these hold 2 globes, which gives you twice the light and that is better for plants.

----------------------
You can prune the plants if they get too big for the tank but some people just leave them to grow. If you want to prune them use a sharp pr of scissors and cut them back. You can plant the cuttings into the gravel to get more plants.