Do Charlie’s fins look normal?

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Charlie’s Keeper

Reaction score
Hi there! I’m new to fish keeping, but I recently saw Charlie at Walmart and I couldn’t leave him there. He is now my baby and lives in a 5 gallon, heated, and filtered tank. I let the tank sit for a couple days to try and cycle and have been adding Stability from Seachem to help it, but I added Charlie recently because I didn’t want him to sit too long without a filter (he had a heater while I outback together his new home). Being a new betta mom, I’m paranoid of the bacteria and diseases they can get. Can I get your opinions on how his fins are looking now? I think he’s doing okay (a lot better since Walmart) but I’m a worrier.

Attachments

• 362D0219-B0DC-4E69-A817-D382AB609A5D.jpeg
    362D0219-B0DC-4E69-A817-D382AB609A5D.jpeg
    580.8 KB · Views: 373
  • B2E89B5E-6C76-43E8-86A4-8D0B8CC98BE5.jpeg
    B2E89B5E-6C76-43E8-86A4-8D0B8CC98BE5.jpeg
    500.2 KB · Views: 365
  • 2D421B34-F9CE-4F98-A65C-CEE5967A1DD2.jpeg
    2D421B34-F9CE-4F98-A65C-CEE5967A1DD2.jpeg
    514.8 KB · Views: 361
  • DB350EDD-1FD0-449F-9FDA-199BAAC341C1.jpeg
    DB350EDD-1FD0-449F-9FDA-199BAAC341C1.jpeg
    510.2 KB · Views: 366
  • A7BF1D4A-F8A1-419B-B964-3231A8C398CE.jpeg
    A7BF1D4A-F8A1-419B-B964-3231A8C398CE.jpeg
    663.9 KB · Views: 358
Hi and welcome to the forum :)

His fins are fine.

Most fish health issues are caused by poor water quality. If you do regular water changes and gravel clean the substrate, the fish should be fine. Having said that, because this is a newly set up tank I would reduce feeding to 2 times per week and do a 75% water change and gravel clean the substrate 4-8 hours after feeding. You should also monitor the ammonia and nitrite levels in the water and do a 75% water change and gravel clean the substrate if you get an ammonia or nitrite reading above 0.