Discus Set Up

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

stewoods1

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
I am starting a discus set up with a pair of red ciripeau discus I think they are called.
What plants should I buy and also what tankmates whould I get if any. The tank is a 40 gallon

Sorry I have no experience with discus, but I would think any plants would work, as long as you have the appropriate lighting for them?
Tankmates as long as they are peaceful and can't fit in the Discus' mouth, again, I'm assuming. :)
Of course someone please correct me if I'm wrong but I don't think Discus belong in a 40g tank :/

Hi, when you say a pair, are you taking about a confirmed breeding pair(which have bred before), or just 2 Discus? If it is the latter then it is not a good idea, as they need to be in a shoal, and I would recommend at least 10. However you obviously cannot put 10 Discus in a 40 gallon tank.

If they are 100% confirmed breeding pair, then I can't say don't do it, as I have breeding pairs in their breeding tank alone for months on end with no ill effects. They do however get periodic breaks back in the main tank. You might still want to be making a plan for a bigger tank down the line, as a 40 gallon isn't really big enough.

Only fish I would personally mix with them are Cardinal Tetras and or Sterbai Corys.

Stick with large leaf plants like Amazon Swords.

All said and done, you might be better keeping different fish until you have a bigger tank. German Blue Rams would be a good choice as they need the same water conditions as Discus, so would be good practice.

Whatever you decide to do, best of luck. 

Ninjouzata said:
Sorry I have no experience with discus, but I would think any plants would work, as long as you have the appropriate lighting for them?
Tankmates as long as they are peaceful and can't fit in the Discus' mouth, again, I'm assuming.
smile.png