Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Cycling new filter using old?

Discussion in 'Cycle your Tank' started by Sweeden, Oct 7, 2016.

  1. Sweeden

    Sweeden Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    M26
    I want to change my old internal filter for my new hang on filter. They've now been both running on the same time for a week.

    How long before the new filter is ready to run alone and I can put old filter into another tank?

    Cheers

     
  2. FroFro

    FroFro Mostly New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    US
    Are you using the old filter as a secondary replacement for another tank? Or wanting to start a new tank with that old filter? When I first started with a ten gallon aquarium kit a few years back I replaced the filter but kept them both running in the same tank for at least two weeks so they'd share the cycled water. I then cut out the filter media from the old filter and placed it inside the new for a couple of days for good measure. You don't want to lose that good bacteria :D
     
  3. Sweeden

    Sweeden Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    M26
    Setting up a new tank. but main reason is so my Betta isn't blown around the tank so bought the new HOB filter. will run them both for 3 more weeks for good measure. tanks been running for 4 years so well cycled. new filter has been running for a week now at same time.
     
  4. DrRob

    DrRob It's life Jim, but not as we know it.
    Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    4,822
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    GB
    Is the old tank going to be kept going? Personally, my method is to take out about a third of the filter material, put it in the new filter (may need cutting up) and top both up with new media. Then you can generally run both filters. If the old tank is going then just cram as much old media in the new one as you can.
     
  5. DrRob

    DrRob It's life Jim, but not as we know it.
    Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    4,822
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    GB
    Is the old tank going to be kept going? Personally, my method is to take out about a third of the filter material, put it in the new filter (may need cutting up) and top both up with new media. Then you can generally run both filters. If the old tank is going then just cram as much old media in the new one as you can.
     

Share This Page