Cycling A Tank

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Tbreds53

Reaction score
Hello everyone.I'm new to this hobby and trying my best.I have a 29 gal.with 2 convict cichlids..The two fish were given to me along with tank and a bottle of API Quick start..So, I messed up I Know..but here I am trying to get this tank to cycle..2 months now..Fish look fine, eating good..etc.. BUT...my nitrite levels are off the chart purple..Everyone keeps telling me so more water changes or fish will die. Then I have some telling to leave it alone until nitrites convert...
What do I do.? The nitrites are dangerously high..Help..

Short answer: water change.

Long answer: leave it until the nitrite converts.

I'll add to this in stages.
First, a note on Nitrite.  Nitrite (NO2) is taken up by the fish's gills and enters the fish's blood stream, in place of oxygen.  This turns the fish's blood brown (sometimes called brown blood disease).  Its not a disease, its poison.  The nitrite blocks the hemoglobin of the fish's blood from carrying oxygen and the fish slowly asphyxiate.  

The only way to fix this problem is to remove the nitrite from the water, so that the fish can expel the nitrite from their blood and begin to uptake oxygen as normal.

So, STEP 1 - Complete as large a water change as possible.... take the water down to the level that the fish can just barely swim upright.   Then refill with dechlorinated temp matched water.  I'd suggest doing daily water changes just like this for 3 consecutive days... this will completely remove the nitrite from the tank (or nearly so) and give the fish a chance to expel the nitrite.  THIS STEP WILL SAVE THEIR LIFE!

After those 3 days...