Cycling a new tank

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Bandalyn

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm planning on combining my 20 g tank and my 10 g tank into a 36 g or 40 g in the near future. I'm looking for advice on how to do this safely. I'm still pretty new at this and have been going by advice from the pet stores and what I can find online.

My 20g tank has 6 tetra glofish ( black skirt tetras) and the 10 gallon has 5 zebra danio glofish.
Are they going to be okay to keep in one tank?

There is also a pleco in the 20 g tank and a small snail that suddenly appeared in the 10 g tank. I didn't put it in there intentionally and just saw it during a water change. I don't know if it's going to be a problem.

I was planning on changing the tank in December to give the Danios a chance to grow a bit but they are already growing and I may be doing it sooner.

Please help! I don't want to do this wrong and lose anymore fish.

Thanks,
Brandi

Thanks! How long would you recommend cycling the tank. I will have to get a new filter but l can use the water from the old tanks.

Also, should I wait for the Danios to get bigger? They are still very small. I've only had them a month but they are doing well and fun to watch! The tetras are at least 18 months old and much bigger than the Danios.

I recently lost some fish and I think it's due to improper cycling and aggression between different species of fish. I don't want to go through that again.

Zebra danios and black skirt (aka: black widow) tetras can get along but you have to watch the black widows because they are fin nippers. If you have long finned zebra danios then I would keep them separate. But short finned danios should be ok.

----------------------