Corys Dying, Please Help

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

FreshwaterAfishianado

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm fairly new to fishkeeping, I've have a 20 US gal. tank running for about 6 months now and I thought I was doing fairly well. I even managed to get my Platys to produce some fry. When I first stocked my tank I had 2 wagtail platys, a sunburst male and a red female, ans I had 3 Glofish danios. The Glofish died within about a month from ich, but my platys have thrived since so I decided to try to add a few more fish. I currently have the two original wagtails, a new blue platy female, four platy fry and 2 snails. I tried to add 4 corys and within 2 days 2 of them stopped eating or even moving at all and became very pale beforethey died. The local pet store has a healthy fish guarantee, and they tested my water for me all came back fine. Ammonia and nitrate undetectable and nitrates barely detectable but definitely <.25 ppm. I keep my aquarium at a constant 78° F. And have never added any salt to it. If anyone can help me solve this it would be greatly appreciated.

Blondielovesfish said:
Have you cycled your tank?
Yes, I did a fish less cycle and let my tank run for a full month when I first bought it before I ever bought any fish, do I need to cycle it more than once? I thought that was a one-time thing. I'm maintaining it right now with monthly 25% water changes/gravel vacuums and monthly carbon filter changes

You should be doing about 20% water changes weekly.
Did you get the actual results or did they just say "its okay" without you seeing the results?

When you say you ran the tank for a month, did you add ammonia daily? Or did you just turn on the filter and let it run for a month?