Cory With Eggs Or Should I Be Concerned?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

panino212

Reaction score
Hey guys!

This is my first time writing on this forum. I just wanted to get your opinion on one of my panda corys.

About 3 weeks ago I noticed one of my corys has a rounded pale spot close to its anal fin. I honestly have no idea what it could be. Maybe eggs?!? I looked all over the internet and I couldn't find any pictures or info on this. It was definitely not there before so I don't know if I should be worried about it or not. 
I have attached 2 pictures so you guys have an idea of what I'm talking about.

I'd really appreciate it if you could help me!

Thank you!

Andre

Attachments

• Panda Cory 2.jpg
    Panda Cory 2.jpg
    72.8 KB · Views: 265
  • Panda Cory.jpg
    Panda Cory.jpg
    74.2 KB · Views: 275
Welcome to the forum, Andre.

Definitely not eggs.

I would say that's probably a bacterial infection, and I would recommend a course of Myxazin, if you can get it, or another anti internal bacterial medicine.

It's probably not related to this issue, but I have to say, I don't like the look of your substrate. It looks very rough, and could cause your cories problems with their mouths and barbels in the future.

Wow! Thanks for the tip, fluttermoth! I will start treatment right away! I could get some Myxazin at the local fish store. Right now I only have Furanol for bacterial infections. Do you think that might work as well?!?

I hear what you're saying about the substrate but I'm not sure if it looks rough because of the flash that I used in the picture?!? I'm using JBL Sansibar Black Sand which I bought specifically for the corys 'cause I was told it was ideal for them. I would love to hear your opinion on it. 

Once again, thank you so much for your help! Hopefully the cory will recover soon! 
sad.png

Furanol is worth a try, if you have it.