Conservatory Fish Tank

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Stevieboy

Reaction score
Hi there,

I'm new to fishkeeping so can somebody please give me some advice on keeping a tropical fish tank in a conservatory. I am seriously considering starting a tropical aquarium and basically I have two options.

1) I could get a decent size tank (at least 200 litres) which could be placed in a conservatory. or
2) A biorb life 45 litre placed in a corner of the dining room.

I would love to have a big tank in the house as this would allow me to have a larger selection of fish but the only place for this to go would be in the conservatory. I'm not sure if this is a good idea or a stupid one. My conservatory is a fair size and faces east so only gets direct sunlight in the morning, because of this it doesn't get too hot in there like some conservatories can in the summer. I know algae growth could be a problem in the summer months, but I think fitting a UV device could help prevent this. My main concern would be the lack of heating during the winter months, would the heater in the tank be able to cope with such a drop in temperature? or could I install another heater to help with this? or is there another solution?

I have a feeling that option 1 is not possible and that I will have to keep a small aquarium only. Any advise on this would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
Steve

Welcome to TFF, :)

I'd say go with option 1, the bigger the better!
If your willing to clean up algea everytime it appears, then why not! Just make sure you don't turn your tank light till after the sun has gone. Also keep the heater maybe 1-2 degrees lower as there will be natural heat. If the tank heats up too much you could always get a colling fan.

And during the winter time a heater will be fine, get a thermometer to keep an eye on the tempreture.

~betta_246