Conflicting Information About Tank Cycling

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Alibobs

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
I am new to keeping fish. I am 3 week into the cycle process and my ammonia levels are off the chart over 5.0  my nitrate levels are fine and my ph is 6.0. On buying my tank from an aquarium where I live I told him I was new to all this and needed advice, he sold me the tank and told me to go home set it up and come back tomorrow for fish which I did. He told me nothing about the tank cycling process. He sold me 3 clown coaches 4 koi Angels, 2 Zebra Angels a Plec, 8 Neon Tetras and 2 Golden Gouramis. Apparently I have been told I should not have started with so many fish and definitely not clown coaches or Angels as these are sensitive fish. I have spent a fortune on ammonia digester and Ammo lock and the clear jelly balls to put in my filter.I have had to eventually take the fish back to the shop for him to look after as they started to suffer because of the ammonia levels despite water changes and all the stuff I have bought. I'm hoping someone can give me some grateful advice as I keep getting conflicting information from aquariums. Im feeding the fish once a day only and a little amount. I was feeding live blood worms as the aquariums told me this was better Now I'm being toold to feed flake food. I was told to stop water changes as it slows the cycling process and now another aquarium is telling I should be doing it it does not affect the cycling process.my ammonia has been sky high now for 6 days. I have 8 Neon Tetras and 2 Golden Gouramis in the tank at the moment and they seem fine funny enough. What do I need to do? Please help. 

Oh dear! Lfs not being particularly helpful at all. In fact your lfs has given you all the wrong advice!

Nearly everything they tell you is utter tosh! Just to sell you their products basically