Confirmation on Fish Compatibility

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Karly73

Reaction score
Hello,
I am very new to the hobby, and I've been researching avidly while in the process of cycling my tank. I have a 35 gal, and very much fell in love with Honey Gourami. I am torn on tank mates, as I was recommended platy and ember or black neon tetra.
So my thoughts were:
2 honey Gourami
4 platy
8-10 ember tetra
Upon research, I've heard mixed reviews on whether they will be compatible, though this match was recommended to me in a fish group. My tank has many hides and silk plants, would this be acceptable? About a rough estimate on what percent stocked my tank will be with this arrangment? As stated I am new, but want the best for my fish. I still have time to explore my options as my tank cycles. Thanks in advance!

The main problem is your list contains soft water fish (gouramis and tetras) and hard water fish (platies). In the same tank, one or other will not be happy.

What is the hardness of your tap water? You should be able to find this somewhere on your water supplier's website. Let us know what they say, both the number and the unit (it could be one of several unts). And if they give them, the pH and KH (also called alkalinity) would also be useful.

It is much better for the fish if you buy fish suited to your tap water. Once we know the parameters of your tap water we can help you decide on fish. You have time to decide while the tank cycles.