Colour-Changing Shrimp

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

chickennuggets123

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Hey everyone!

So, yesterday I bought a BLUE shrimp... woke up this morning to find I had a RED/PINK one. And after getting back this afternoon after being out all day, i noticed... he was BLUE again
w00t.gif

(He was blue because in the pet shop- the tank was dark, with dark gravel
He turned pink because all my gravel is pink.
And he tuned blue again, because he'd hidden under the wood in the tank where it was dark.)

I found out they colour change to match their environment!
So, I bought another shrimp today...so the first one isnt lonely.

If i put any colour gravel into the tank, would they change to that colour after a while?
If the gravel was... say... green and orange... would it turn a greeny-orange colour?
And, because Im new to keeping shrimps, could I have as much info on them please, too!

Hey everyone!

So, yesterday I bought a BLUE shrimp... woke up this morning to find I had a RED/PINK one. And after getting back this afternoon after being out all day, i noticed... he was BLUE again
w00t.gif

(He was blue because in the pet shop- the tank was dark, with dark gravel
He turned pink because all my gravel is pink.
And he tuned blue again, because he'd hidden under the wood in the tank where it was dark.)

I found out they colour change to match their environment!
So, I bought another shrimp today...so the first one isnt lonely.

If i put any colour gravel into the tank, would they change to that colour after a while?
If the gravel was... say... green and orange... would it turn a greeny-orange colour?
And, because Im new to keeping shrimps, could I have as much info on them please, too!