Clowdy water concerns!!!

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

carlobellina

Reaction score
I'm still new to this and must have done something wrong. I've had my tank set up for 3 months now. It was fully cycled and crystal clear for about a month and a half. Yesterday I did my weekly water change of about 40% and noticed the filters pads were filthy so I rinsed off 2 new ones and put them in the filter. Now today I have clowdy water. Will this go away? What did I do wrong?
591baddfcc4e71cb628d79d3c90dbd8b.jpg

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

Also I add water conditioner and stress zyme during my weekly water changes. It's a 50 gallon corner Pentagon tank with a dual filter.

Be that its new probably a bacterial bloom. What are your parameters and stock?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk

Would it have anything to do with changing the filter pads? Everything tests fine. My other tank is crystal clear and I changed the water yesterday but didn't change the filter pad

The simple fact the filter media was changed does have an effect on your cycled tank.

Basically your bacterial colony lives inside the filter media as well as all over inside the tank on substrate, plants and decor. So changing the filter media will diminish your bacterial colony that is needed to deal with the ammonia and nitrite that occurs.

The cloudy water is very likely to be a bacterial bloom, meaning your bacteria is trying to form to get back to the numbers needed to deal with your tank. In short its either a spike or a mini cycle.

Keep a good eye on your water parameters, anything above 0.5ppm ammonia or nitrite, do a water change to lower these levels. Remember that ammonia and nitrite are toxic to your stocking.