The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

sydney19

Reaction score
I recently started a 20 gal long planted aquarium. I have had many aquariums but this is the first one I have had fully stocked with live plants, so I am new to the planted tank world. It has been up and running (and cycled) for about 8 weeks and no plants seem to be flourishing. 

I have a T5 high output dual lamp with a 6700k bulb and a 10,000k bulb
I am running a fluval 30 hang on the back
And a smaller air pump with an anchored air stone. One that is sufficient for a 20 gal tank (says the label) but does not create much movement in the water.
I have about 1.5 inches of flourite and about .5 inches of pool sand on top of the flourite for a substrate.

the only chemicals i add occasionally are CO2 booster (i do not have a CO2 injector) and flourish.

First question: why am I getting diatoms? and how do I get rid of them?
Second question: Do I have enough circulation, should I add more if I am noticing plant matter sitting stagnant on the leaves of the plants?
Third questions: Am I doing something I shouldn't be? Does anyone see any red flags with what I have running in my tank?

Any and all advice is welcomed!! 
smiley.gif

Diatoms are normal on all new tanks.eventually they will go.i personally would create more flow with a small pump.it can take a while for some plants to establish themselves especially in a new tank.eventually you will get a balance where everything will be ok.

If by "diatoms" you are referring to the brown algae that will easily wipe off with your fingertip, then as gmc1 said this is common in new tanks.  However, if you mean something else (I have been battling a diatom bloom of slightly cloudy water, brownish organics here and there, in only one of my seven tanks) that could be different.