Cherry Shrimps And Black Crystal Shrimps Together

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

fishmad_f

Reaction score
Hi Guys,
I am new to keeping shrimps. Also my Cherry's have hatched. What i want to know is i m getting black crystal shrimps too; can i keep them in the same tank? Will the two species be compatible with each other?

fishmad_f

Hi Guys,
I am new to keeping shrimps. Also my Cherry's have hatched. What i want to know is i m getting black crystal shrimps too; can i keep them in the same tank? Will the two species be compatible with each other?

fishmad_f
cant anybody help me, i need ur advice can i keep BCS and cherry shrimps together?

You are fine introducing a small species of shrimp like the black crystal with the similarly small cherry, with out risk of predatation, the only risk is cross them breeding, this is not as well documented, and I think the possibility between the two shrimp species in question cross breeding is slight.

But yes I have seen many tanks with the two shrimp living happily together....

Check for where the species originally came from and see if they lived in similar ecologies or even in the same biotype. This will tell you more about whether they are compatible and whether they will cross-breed.

My understanding is the (very red) Cherry Shrimp was "man-made" through selective breeding in Taiwan and that not-so-red wild varieties are also found in Taiwan and Southern China.
http://www.petshrimp.com/redcherryshrimp.html
http://www.azgardens.com/shrimpfactory.php

I do not know much about the Black Crystal Shrimp but it could be a "new" common name for another type of shrimp. I did find that what is known as the "Bee Shrimp" is also called the Black Crystal or Crystal Black Shrimp.