Cheap Light System For Micro Aquascape?

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

cooledwhip

Fishaholic
Reaction score
I am making my dad a small aquascape in a 2.5 gallon. I have the tank and I plan on putting some seachem flourite in there. I will be growing dwarf baby teras, maybe some DHG and I will have some stem plants like ludwigia, rotala. Maybe even pearl weed. Anyway, I am going lowtech, I will have a small really tiny HOB filter. As for inhabitants, I will have some shrimp and at most 2 guppies (I know they shouldn't be in the tank and I know it's a lot for a 2.5).

Anyway, what kind of light should I have? I've never grown dwarf baby tears before and I tried growing DHG before and it didn't work out. I will be using some fertilizers, plant food, no CO2 but my question is still, what kind of light should I get? I've never used actual lightbulbs before, only LED's. There is little to no natural light, and I plan on starting emersed until the HC carpets out.

Thanks

A small led will be fine.

Shrimp should also be fine in there, but I would avoid any fish.

LEDs or compact florescent bulbs will work fine as long as the light is bright enough and the CRI (color rendering index) is high.   LED bulbs made by Cree, Sylvania, and Philips will have a CRI of 80 or more.Energy star labeled bulbs are required to have a CRI of 80 or higher.   Use the link below to estimate how many lumens of light you need.  Baby Tears are listed as high light plants.  
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/10-lighting/300490-how-calculate-your-tank-lighting-lsi.html

I have no experience with Baby tears.  Many people prefer bulbs with a color temperature of 6000K but I haven't seen any difference inplant growth due to bulb color temperature.  I have gotten good result with 3000K bulbs.

I will be using some fertilizers, plant food, no CO2 but my question is still