Changing Water In My Tank

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Tetz19

Reaction score
Hi everyone! It's my first time setting up a planted fish tank. I placed 7 guppies in a 3 gallon tank with aerator only after 10 days the water went murky so, I installed a water filter. I plan to clean up the whole tank tomorrow changing the water because the stones at the bottom are looking really dirty. Any suggestions on how I should go about it?

Also...
I noticed one of my guppies have the gravid spot and her belly is big. She isolates herself from the others and swims mostly at the bottom. So, I decided to separate her from a tank, I put her in a fish bowl with an aerator. Is it safe? She is still there at the moment. 

Hope you can help me! Thanks a heap!

Hello, how long have you had your tank?, is it cycled meaning all the levels are at 0 and the nitrates under 20?
It's really hard to understand but once you do you will understand why, tropical fish also need a heater you have one?
Give me more details and I'll try help you

Hi! I've had the tank for only 10 days, I haven't checked the cycle yet.. can you tell me how (sorry I'm really a newbie at this and super clueless). I'm located in the Philippines and our climate is pretty warm, do you think I should still get a heater still? Thanks for the reply! I appreciate it. 

The nitrogyen cycle it's really hard to understand but when you do it's easy, you can buy luqid test kits to check the levels
But firstly
Fish produce poo and waste which causes ammonia in the tank , which at an level kills the fish you can tell this if there face is all swollen up and red (gills)