Can someone help me identify the sex of my fish please??

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Dathmo

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm very new to the tropical fish hobby and at the moment I have a Gourami, Balloon Molly, Swordtail and Molly, they've all been together for about 1 week.

Yesterday we noticed lots of fry in the tank, but we completely missed the birthing process and realised we have no idea of the gender of our fish (and which one gave birth!) I'm not sure if it's easy to do from pictures but can anyone figure out the sex of the pictures ive attached? Thank you!

If you need better pictures let me know.

Daniel

Attachments

• 1.png
    1.png
    287.2 KB · Views: 209
  • 2.png
    2.png
    350.5 KB · Views: 175
  • 3.png
    3.png
    368.5 KB · Views: 169
  • 4.png
    4.png
    488.5 KB · Views: 213
  • 5.png
    5.png
    451.2 KB · Views: 254
  • 6.png
    6.png
    1.6 MB · Views: 233
  • 7.png
    7.png
    1.7 MB · Views: 217
If there are a lot of fry all of a sudden, it won't be the Gourami. It's one of the Livebearers. Willing to bet it's probably the two mollies, as for what gender, I would say maybe the Balloon Molly is the female, because if it's swollen anyway, you might not have noticed when she was pregnant, whereas you would have, had it been the other.

Welcome to the forum :)

I can't really tell from those pictures, but I don't need better ones; livebearers are very, very easy to sex, so you'l be able to do it yourself :)

You need to look at the anal fin; that's the one on the fish's belly, just in front of the fish's 'bottom'.

Females will have a normal, fan-shaped fin, whereas males have their anal fin modified into a rod-like structure called a gonopodium.

On a side note; your fish don't look very happy, as they have a rather tucked up appearance, with their dorsal fins down. Is this a new tank as well? Is your tank cycled, and have you been testing the water at all?

silver molly is male.