Can Gravel Cause High Ph?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Crito

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Hello everybody. I am new to fishkeeping and am currently in the middle of cycling my first tank. I would very much appreciate it if you could offer some advice about the Ph level, please. My tap water is roughly 7.5 but the water in the tank goes up to 8. I am wondering if it is the gravel I am using that is causing it. It is called Hugo Kamishi decorative gravel. I have performed an experimental test today, put some gravel into a jar of water, shook it for a few minutes and then measured the Ph. It was a little bluER than that of the tap water. Like I said it was an experiment so I can't be 100% certain it is accurate. I am not sure it is even the reason for the problem, that is why I am asking for help.
General info: I am using API test kit. There is currently no fish in the tank but we are hoping to be able to accommodate one or maybe two goldfish when the tank is ready, it has been cycling for two weeks now. I had rinsed the gravel prior to adding it to the tank. There is a carbon filter media in the filter (Would it be likely to be adding up to the problem?) Do I need to change water to lower the Ph? How will it affect the cycle if I do?
Any suggestions are very welcome. Thank you!

Forgot to mention. There used to be some marble stones in the tank which I have removed now. Might that have caused the problem?
I have done a water change which has dropped the Ph back to normal. I will retest again tomorrow.

A ph of 8 doesn't sound to bad if you want to add goldfish, how big is the tank? I don't think it will cycle if there is no source of ammonia present as you need to feed the bacteria in the filter so just running it on it's own will not cycle it, I wouldn't worry about the ph though and I don't think the carbon has anything to do with it.

Ok I won't worry about the Ph, thank you.