Can anyone identify this type of wood?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Madeline

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
IMG_8971.JPG
I purchased this amazing piece at my LFS, it was pretty busy that day and the shop keeper couldn't remember the type of wood it is when I asked.

Any help or guesses will be appreciated ;)

I thought it was mopani wood but I'm pretty new to the hobby and I'm only guessing. It is releasing loads of tannins so I'll be soaking it for quite some time.

Thanks for the help!

I heard back from my LFS, he said it was Savannah Wood. I wonder if this type leeches tannins for a long time....

IMG_9080.JPG
It's pretty huge, I didn't have anywhere to soak it before putting it into my tank so I'm combatting the tannins...

I'm at work ATM so I can't measure it, but it's in my new Fluval f90 tank and it sticks out some at the top. I'd say it's about 30"Wx 13"Dx 20"H.

I'm a complete newbie but I'm enjoying the research and the mind battles I have between what I want and what I'm actually willing to do.

I added some plants, a few I had in another tank that weren't doing well when they arrived and a bit I bought this weekend. I've a shipment of plants that were supposed to arrive today but the shipment got pushed for tomorrow.

I'm super excited and it doesn't even have fish yet! :D

I'm a complete newbie but I'm enjoying the research and the mind battles I have between what I want and what I'm actually willing to do.

I added some plants, a few I had in another tank that weren't doing well when they arrived and a bit I bought this weekend. I've a shipment of plants that were supposed to arrive today but the shipment got pushed for tomorrow.

I'm super excited and it doesn't even have fish yet! :D