Bristlenose Pleco with long thread like poo

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

AdrianBru

Reaction score
Hello and a happy New Year to all - Newbie here with an 8 month old 200 litre tank with 2 Bristlenose plecos with thread like long poos. I have been having problems for a month or so and lost several platys exhibiting shimmying, clamped fins and weight loss. My local aquarium shops have suggested that it could be either internal parasites or bacteria, so I have treated twice with a combination of esha 2000, gdex and exit. Some improvement but in desperation treated with esha ndx (twice). All appear to be ok now except the plecos with their stringy poo although in all other respects seem to be happy and healthy. Water parameters are all ok with ammonia at 0, No2 at 0, No3 at 25, Ph 7.6, Kh 10 and Gh 14. The question is do I wait and see if the plecos improve or do I treat the tank (I don't have a QT) and if so with what medication that is available in the UK. Any advice would be gratefully received. Many thanks

Welcome to tropical fish forums! I am sorry to hear you are having difficulties with your fish, I agree with the advice your LFS provided. The symptoms you describe indicate internal parasites. If however the fish have already been treated for this and water parameters are fine, then the next option would be to look at the fishes diet, if there has been any overfeeding, or stress. Could there be anything in the tank that could be stressing your fish? Good luck!