Brand new tank owner...questions

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Symphony7

Reaction score
Hi there, I'm brand new to owning fish except once in middle school but that didn't go well because I had no clue what to do. Trying to do this right but am getting some conflicting information, or maybe I'm just getting confused by the amount of info.

So to sum up my setup, I have a 38 gallon bow front aquarium. Currently it is on day 4 of fish less cycling. I rinsed everything, filled it, and added API Quick Start and Stress Zyme.

My goal is eventually (probably not for a few months until I for sure know what I'm doing) to keep an angel fish, so I want to get my tank parameters and community to work for that.

Here are my questions:

1.) So I tested my water and it is extremely soft, almost zero GH and KH, and 6.5 pH. According to what I read, the angelfish needs closer to 60 GH and 80 KH and 7 pH. So I went by the recommendation of one site to add 1 tsp of baking soda, one tsp of Epsom salt per 29 gallons. I did that and it raised the GH to 60, the KH to 80 and the pH to 7. Did I do the right thing? Also when I do water changes, will I need to add the salt and baking soda to the water I add to the tank? I'm assuming yes, but all of a sudden I'm nervous that I'm messing with stuff I shouldn't be.