Both my new catfish died!?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
šŸ† Click to vote! šŸ†

Fabfish

Reaction score
Hi this is my first time using this the forums. I just got some new tropical fish for my tank yesterday. 3 balloon mollies, 3 Tatras and 2 Bristlenose catfish. And within the first 2 hours of them being in the tank one of the cat fish has died and I woke up this morning and found the second one dead to. They had seemed fine when I put them in and didnā€™t even seem like they were distressed so it was a bit of a surprise to me to find them dead. The water temperature is kept at 24 degrees and the ph at neutral (7.0) because they hadnā€™t been there that long I hadnā€™t fed them yet as I usually wait till the next day after bringing them home. All of the other fish are doing great and have had no problems settling in.
Why did my catfish die?

If anyone has any ideas please let me know.

Hi and welcome to the forum :)

How long has the tank been set up for?
Has the filtered cycled (developed the beneficial bacteria needed to keep the water free of ammonia and nitrite)?
What is the ammonia, nitrite & nitrate level in the tank water?

The following link has information about what to do if your fish get sick. It's long and boring but worth knowing. I recommend printing it out and reading it in bed to help fall asleep :)
http://www.fishforums.net/threads/what-to-do-if-your-fish-gets-sick.450268/

Test the water and post the results (in numbers) here.
Do a 75% water change and gravel clean the substrate. Make sure any new water is free of chlorine/ chloramine before it is added to the tank.
Post pictures of the sick/ dead fish if you still have them.

THAT DOESN'T HAVE TO BE THE REASON ALWAYS. IT COULD ALSO BE
THE FACT THAT THE WATER IN THE TANK. WAS PROBALY A LITTLE DIFFERENT THAN THE WATER IN THE SHOP.ALSO DID YOUR FISH HAVE WHITE STRINGY POOP? IF SO IT IS SICK FROM THE SHOP ITSELF

Hi and welcome to the forum :)