Bloated Guppy

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

eddb

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm new to this - but it might be easy for you guys to answer. I did have some problems with water levels and stuff Ammonia etc, but i have got it all sorted now.
However, recently one of my guppys has swollen up (bloated) - the guys in the store said they're all male Guppies so it shouldn't be pregnant.
what do you think? its the out of focus fish at the front, turns out he is camera shy.

please help! i don't want to lose another fish
Cheers
Edd

Hey guys,

I'm new to this - but it might be easy for you guys to answer. I did have some problems with water levels and stuff Ammonia etc, but i have got it all sorted now.
However, recently one of my guppys has swollen up (bloated) - the guys in the store said they're all male Guppies so it shouldn't be pregnant.
what do you think? its the out of focus fish at the front, turns out he is camera shy.

please help! i don't want to lose another fish
Cheers
Edd

Have you tried to sex it yourself, I cant help you with that im afraid. I wouldn't rely on the shops advice too much.

A quick google returned this:-

"Guppies, as with most livebearers, are relatively simple to sex. Males develop a modified anal/ventral fin called a gonopodium. The gonopodium is shaped similar to a tube, and is used during reproduction to deposit sperm. Contrarily, the female's ventral fin is fan-shaped. It should be noted that in rare instances (most often in the absence of males) that some females can develop a gonopodium, though they continue to lack the proper organs for sexual reproduction with other females. They will often act similar to a male guppy, chasing the females and going through the physical process of mating. Females also grow larger than males, and tend to be less colourful with less ornate finnage."

Mike