Black ghost knife gasping

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Agill

Reaction score
I have a BGK that is about 6 inches long, I also had a 12 inch one. I lost the large one yesterday, they were both gasping, I checked my levels nitrites were .5: nitrates 20-40, no chlorine and 0 ammonia. They eat cut up shrimp and bloodworms. Any ideas why my little one would be gasping? Tank temp is 79-80, I have 2 air filter pumps and 2 bubblers going. I'm new to having BGK, I also have 2 angels with him and they are fine, no signs of stress. Any advice would be great I don't want to end up losing both.

I have a BGK that is about 6 inches long, I also had a 12 inch one. I lost the large one yesterday, they were both gasping, I checked my levels nitrites were .5: nitrates 20-40, no chlorine and 0 ammonia. They eat cut up shrimp and bloodworms. Any ideas why my little one would be gasping? Tank temp is 79-80, I have 2 air filter pumps and 2 bubblers going. I'm new to having BGK, I also have 2 angels with him and they are fine, no signs of stress. Any advice would be great I don't want to end up losing both.

Nitrites (with the "i") should be zero in a cycled tank, so any increase is cause for concern. BGK being sensitive fish (to water) would show it before angelfish, though these are going to be having problems too. I would do a major water change, use a good conditioner; one that detoxifies nitrite would help [Seachem's Prime, or Aquarium Solutions Ultimate both deal with nitrite for 24 hours]. These should be daily until nitrite is zero (and nitrates hopefully lower than they are).