Betta

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

RacketyWharf93

Reaction score
So my I cleaned my betta tank today but the gas bubbles appeared was just curious how long it takes before I can put him back in it because he's in a cramped little bowl right now and he isn't too happy bout it. Also I've yried everything to feed him bloodworms but he literally doesn't like them he'd rather eat the flakes instead I don't understand him. I'm new to this by the way

Hi

Taking the fish out to clean the tank is a bad idea all you are doing is killing the nitrogen cycle.

When I clean my tanks all I do is a water change wipe the glass and maybe lightly vacuum the substrate.

How big is his tank?
Is it filtered
Is it cycled.
How often do you change water?
How much do you change
Have you got a heater?
Whats the water temp?
What do you feed him? Blood worms should only be used as a treat.

Agree with Nick, you should never have to remove a fish to clean its tank. Weekly water changes are done by removing around 30-50% of the water via a siphon, then the fresh water is put back in. Doing this regularly keeps the water clean and the fish healthy. I suggest you look into the Nitrogen cycle.

Please answer Nick's questions as they are rather important. Bettas, while viewed as "hardy" need all the things other tropical fish need. Filter, heater, warm water of around 78F, water changes, and then an appropriately sized tank (I say 3gals+).

Hi

Taking the fish out to clean the tank is a bad idea all you are doing is killing the nitrogen cycle.

When I clean my tanks all I do is a water change wipe the glass and maybe lightly vacuum the substrate.

How big is his tank?
Is it filtered
Is it cycled.
How often do you change water?
How much do you change
Have you got a heater?
Whats the water temp?
What do you feed him? Blood worms should only be used as a treat.