Betta Question

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Fairy_Poison

Reaction score
Hello there, as I am new to this website along with a new betta pal ! I have had him for 3 days now & notice he had built a bubble nest with no female Betta in sight, now my big question is: IF I were to purchase a female Betta for breeding, can I ensure how many eggs will be made?
I want my Betta to be able to feel fatherly (HA , Fathers day is around the corner ) before getting into a more older stage , but neither would I be able to care for 300 fry! Can you stop them after making 10 eggs or so? I am very new to caring for fish as an animal lover I didn't purchase them due to thinking they die off quickly from being cupped all their lives and sad but I grew a "rescue bond" for these cute fish that I want to breed and give beautiful homes to ! anyone experienced have answers I'm all ears !

Hi and welcome to the forum :)

You can't stop fish from producing more eggs. The females will release all the eggs they have when they breed. This might be 20 or it might be 500.

Male Bettas regularly build a bubblenest and it is perfectly normal. Just let him have his nest to care for and don't bother about a female unless you have 2 aquariums. The females are best kept separate from males until the female has developed eggs. Then she is introduced into the male's tank and if she is suitable, they breed and the male takes care of the eggs and fry (baby fish). The female is normally removed from the male's tank after they have bred.

If you do want to let him have some babies, you could always bring the ones you cant care for to your local fish store. Most lfs's always take juvinile fish and put them up for adoption for good forever home!

Hi and welcome to the forum :)

You can't stop fish from producing more eggs. The females will release all the eggs they have when they breed. This might be 20 or it might be 500.