betta ID please

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

envious

Reaction score
hi everyone not sure If this is the right place for this thread.
I've been wanting a group of the more peaceful betta types but have been unable to aquire any.
then a couple of days ago I spotted this beauty in a tank full of females splendens. I'm pretty certain it's male it show all colours of a wild betta splenden but I'm unsure. there are other males in the shop tank with the females and I didn't see any fighting just the odd flare. any thoughts people
thanks

Attachments

• 20161116_163522.jpg
    20161116_163522.jpg
    498.5 KB · Views: 170
The pelvic fins definitely make it look like a male, so I would guess a splendens plakat of sorts. I hear that the short finned types are more aggressive, probably because they can get around faster than their long-finned friends. I'm no expert in wild types though :p If the males were mixed with the females at the pet store then I would bet that they were raised together.
If you are wanting a group of splendens, it's probably best to go all female. If you want mixed males and females, I would look into the more common wild caught types. From what I understand, the species that are mouth brooders are usually kept as pairs. Imbellis (bubble nesters) can be kept as a colony but their colors are nothing special.

Sorry if this doesn't answer your question, but I may have found a website that might help.
http://nicebetta.blogspot.com/

I use to breed Fancy Half moon Plakats. I had one female really trick me for the long time I thought it was a female then the fins really came in and I saw now it was a male.

It is a male Plakat for sure. The longer Ventral fins are the real give away.