Betta breeding

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
šŸ† Click to enter! šŸ†

Erica27

Reaction score
hello, I am new to betta breeding but I have done ALOT of research on it and watched many many videos. I have them both in my ten gallon with the female in a pepret container. I put them both in last night and he has already made a very big bubble nest. But Iā€™m waiting on her to get the stripes. She is showing a lot of interest in him but Iā€™m just not sure if she is ready. Any help?

Have you got food for the babies?
The following link has information about making live food for baby fish. You should try to get the food ready before you breed the fish so the babies have something to eat when they hatch.
http://www.fishforums.net/threads/back-to-basics-when-breeding-fish.448304/

Betta fry are small and need green water or infusoria. If you can't get these you can hard boil an egg. Remove the shell and white part. Push the yellow yolk through a handkerchief into a small container of dechlorinated water. Put the lid on the container and shake it up, then use an eye dropper to suck some of the egg yolk solution out and put it in the tank with the babies. Do this 3-5 times per day for the first 2 weeks then start adding newly hatched brineshrimp.

Boil another egg each day and make a new solution each day. Do regular partial water changes on the fry tank or have a small air operated sponge filter in it to keep the water clean. The egg yolk can cause ammonia levels to go up and without water changes or a filter the fry will die from polluted water.

-----------------------