Beginner Tank Setup

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

vMaCx03

Reaction score
I have a 30 gallon tank. Currently I have only different vareities of mollies in there. But after I get back from my summer vacation I expect some to die or I may just wait till they all die. When they die, I wanna setup a new tank. I think I wanna start putting coys and goldfish and stuff of that family in there.

Exactly what is a good combination for such fishes. I am not sure if they are freshwater. Also, I live in the South (Louisiana). So should the pH be 6?

Please tell me the required things I need for a new fish tank setup.

Also, if you can make a list of community fish with these coys it would be helpful.

Or, if you would like to suggest a better category of fish for a 30 gal tank please submit. I'm open to ideas. I'm somewhat new to this still. Thanks all

:/ That's a bit worrying that you assume your fish will just die soon
If you look after them well now, you should by all means have them for a good many years ! So you might want to hang around for a couple of years till they "die" or rehome them if you don't like them.

why not rehome them to someone who odes want them?
if your just waiting for them to die then you may start to neglect them

how many mollies do you have in the tank?

Mollies can live 2-4 years...so I don't think are just going to die. :)

If you do want to put a Goldfish in your tank, you should probably take the Mollies out, because Goldfish are coldwater, while Mollies are tropical. Also, beware, Goldfish are VERY messy fish. I'm pretty sure some Cories could go in with Goldfish, in coldwater, but you might want to check in the Catfish section. :thumbs:

If you just want a general community tank, the p.H should be around 7 or so. :)

Most community fish you find can go with Cories, because Cories are very peaceful. Any specific ones you were thinking of?