Aquasoil (Maidenhead Aquatics) - any experience? My fish have all died.

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

flix_cw

Fishaholic
Reaction score
I have a new 620T 130L tank and 5 days ago moved all my plants, fish and established Eheim 2213 filter across to it from my old 56L tank.

I decided to have a base of Aquasoil from Maidenhead Aquatics https://www.fishkeeper.co.uk/product/aquasoil capped by my old gravel to benefit plant growth. After 3 days my fish started to die. Despite daily 50% water changes, all the fish are now dead. I'm pretty gutted, and also really quite confused;

I have an API Master test kit and all readings are all regularly within normal ranges:
Ammonia - 0
Nitrite - 0
Nitrate - 5
pH - 7.4.

My only concern is that on dipstick test, both GH & KH are very high... may this be something to do with it?

I know anything i do now is closing the stable door after the horse has bolted - but any thoughts on what i should do now would be much appreciated. Should i continue water changes and eventually the soil will stop leeching, or shall i strip the whole thing and start again?

I can't really understand situation but did you rinse the gravel with coldwater after you got it out from the old tank?

Aquasoil leaches ammonia
So I would keep up WC's two times a week fifty percent. fifty percent a day is a lot but if its working keep doing that.
Basically this comment was pointless lol

From what I can find in that link, this is not a "substrate" for an aquarium. It is meant as soil for a garden pond.

I would suspect it may leech several things that could kill fish in an aquarium; the much more confined space and water volume in an aquarium can amplify toxins considerably.

You don't give the numbers for GH/KH (before and after to compare) but if this was significant in a short timeframe it could shock fish seriously.