Anybody With Experience Of Both Marine And Discus?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

markandhisfish

comfortably numb
Reaction score
for now ive always been a frewshwater keeper , and probably will be for a good few years yet. but if i could have my ultimate dream aquarium it would be a big (100g plus) full blown reef , teeming with life and diversity ( yep i know i dont want much :lol: ) . now asides from obviously the cost putting me off , i also imagine running a setup like that to be really dificult and complicated.

heres where the discus comparison comes in. i keep discus now , and before i did i imagined/belived they myths of how hard they are , but in fact as long as youre not a total beginner , i have found them easy . so is marine as hard as youd think or is it much like the discus thing?

Different rules but probably on an equal with Discus, re water quality. The larger the tank, the easier to keep :good:

Seffie x

Mark

I;d probably say that marines are slightly more difficult/costly and complicated to keep than discus

Having said that after being a marine sceptic for 18 years or so I;ll pretty soon ony have salty tanks. I love them and enjoy the level of maintenance required.

I;ve never been to interested in the scape of my tanks over the years just the fish but now I;m big into the corals and scaping etc and thefish seem to play a bit part

You should have a crack on a smaller nano style scale like my river reef 94.

Marines are no different form any other form of fishkeeping, I've known beginners cut their teeth with Salties and have never even considered keeping freshies.
I had been keeping and breeding fish for eons and decided to set up a marine tank all be it a nano.