Another stocking advice thread...

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

vprice1030

Reaction score
Hello all! I'm a bit new to the hobby and have just upgraded from a 10 gal to a 40 gallon breeder. I've got a bit of experience in the past with FOWL marine tanks, but not so much with freshwater tropical tanks.

Anyways, I've been spinning myself in circles researching compatibility, etc and was hoping for some real-world advice rather than trying to gauge which direction to go from books alone as I plan my future stock.

Right now, I have 5 zebra danios and 1 bristle-nose pleco (still only about 2.5 inches long).
My water parameters:
pH: 6.8
gH: 3
temp: 78-79 (unfortunately my house gets a bit warmer in the summer so I need to keep fish tolerant to 75-80 degree temps, or perhaps look into a chiller)
My new tank is still cycling, but the previous tank was stable at 0/0/<20 for ammonia, nitrites, and ntirates for many months. I transferred the old filter, old substrate, old decor, old water, etc to the new tank to help the cycling along.

Anyways, I was thinking about potential stocking options over the coming months, and was thinking of something like this:
5 zebra danios
1 bristle nose pleco
5 yoyo loaches
5 rummynose tetras
5 cardinal tetras
2 german blue rams

How would that work? I go back and forth between the loaches or perhaps some corys instead.
Any advice or suggestions, or advice on where to start when I'm able to start adding fish, would be greatly appreciated!

You have soft water, so that is good to know. Your fish ideas are in keeping with that, but there are some other issues.