Ammonia Chips

Discussion in 'Marine and Reef Chit Chat' started by drag, Mar 14, 2006.

  1. drag

    drag Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    just a stupid question .. do those ammonia chips work in saltwater also? :S

    they always say for freshwater. yet the guy at petco try to sell me some for my marine tank( he might not have known better). the box said for freshwater.

    do they make ammo chips for saltwater??? :thumbs:
     
  2. SkiFletch

    SkiFletch Professor Beaker

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    14,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dunno, but I wouldnt use ammonia reducing chemicals in salt water, I'd eliminate the source of the ammonia instead
     
  3. wendywc

    wendywc Rocking a crabshell for a hat.

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,157
    Likes Received:
    0
    The ammo chips that I have are for freshwater only.
     
  4. Navarre

    Navarre Marine Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,824
    Likes Received:
    0
    dont use unless its made for SW

    Liverock does the job faster
     
  5. Die_Grinder

    Die_Grinder Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    0
    freshwater ammo-chips can be recharged in a salt water solution, so they would be useless :p
     
  6. Aquascaper

    Aquascaper Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    3,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you have Ammonia in your saltwater tank you're either just starting cycling the tank and therefore need it to feed the cycle or you have a serious problem.

    Either way eliminate the source rather than removing the end product (unless starting your cycle).
     
  7. drag

    drag Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah maybe i should have clarified. i dont have an ammo prblem. just a general question if saltwater ammo chips exist?
     
  8. Die_Grinder

    Die_Grinder Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    0
    dont think so, from what i understand they make the ammonia cling on to the zeolite, and the salt water reverses the process. tho i aint been looking at the marine section for long. i am a man of freshwater getting salty :p you could say i am a scat.. starting off freshwater, them moving into salt :p
     
  9. Aquascaper

    Aquascaper Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    3,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Saltwater aquarists are more concerned with treating the cause of problems rather than looking for a fast cure :lol:

    (Have that Freshies :p)
     
  10. crazyelece

    crazyelece Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    0
    "Cycle" works with both fresh and saltwater. And yes I have used it in my saltwater tank, but only to help get it cycled and to help when adding fish. On an established saltwater tank, their is so much filtration (as far as ammonia is concerned) that you will usually not even detect an ammonia spike.
     
  11. Trance2006

    Trance2006 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cannot remember, but you can check Drfostersmith.com I am sure the have it. But if I were ou try to not look for a quick fix.
     

Share This Page