Am I over stocking my tank?

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

ReynaDeana

Reaction score
Hey guys! I'm pretty new at the fish keeping hobby, and I appreciate all constructive criticism and advice :) As of right now, I have a 10 gallon tank with one female dwarf gouriami, one male dwarf gouriami, two tetras, one albino Cory catfish and one spotted Cory catfish. I was wondering if I was over stocking my tank?

Yes, but this needs explaining. Before I do, welcome to TFF. :hi:

Some of the fish you have are what we term shoaling (think of schooling, similar) and they must have a group to be healthy and not stressed. Tetras and cory catfish are shoaling species. So you need at least six of the tetras (some species need more, and I don't know which you have), and at least five cories. This may overload the tank, depending the species.

When I know which, I may have more to offer. I would not recommend the dwarf gourami pair, but as you have them we can try to work around it. Floating plants would help a lot. And being regular with your partial water changes.

Byron.

Yes, but this needs explaining. Before I do, welcome to TFF. :hi:

Some of the fish you have are what we term shoaling (think of schooling, similar) and they must have a group to be healthy and not stressed. Tetras and cory catfish are shoaling species. So you need at least six of the tetras (some species need more, and I don't know which you have), and at least five cories. This may overload the tank, depending the species.

When I know which, I may have more to offer. I would not recommend the dwarf gourami pair, but as you have them we can try to work around it. Floating plants would help a lot. And being regular with your partial water changes.

Byron.