Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Algae problems On new system

Discussion in 'Algae Removal' started by james.dyer13, Dec 6, 2017.

  1. james.dyer13

    james.dyer13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had the system set up for about 3 weeks this has only just come along could anyone tell me what it is? [​IMG][​IMG]

    Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk

     
  2. animalisterra

    animalisterra New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    It looks like green hair algae to me. It can form when you CO2 levels drop or they are not constant. If you don't have CO2 in you tank, the plant that you got probably had some on it and it grew from there. To get rid of it you can either pull it off or get some Amano shrimp, they usually do the job.
     
  3. fishlover22346

    fishlover22346 Fish Fanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2017
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    4
    shrimp or an otocinculus catfish are my recommendations, you could also remove it yourself, but that’s pretty hard, let alone time consuming.
     
  4. NickAu

    NickAu Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,310
    Likes Received:
    921
    Location:
    AU
    I do not recommend adding critters to " cure " tank problems, The best way to deal with these things is the old fashioned way, find out what caused the problem and fix it.

    You need to give us way more information.
    Is the tank cycled
    What sort of filter have you got
    What is the water temp.
    What chemicals do you use including fertilizer.
    What sort of lighting do you have
    How long are the lights on

    The more info you give us the better we can help you
     
  5. james.dyer13

    james.dyer13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a new system it's been set up for about a month I've got pressured co2. A new canister filter, the lights are on for 6 hours I'm using flourite excel. And flourish iron dosing once a week. I've got shrimp in my old tank I'm going to add them tonight [​IMG]

    Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk
     
  6. james.dyer13

    james.dyer13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a new system it's been set up for about a month I've got pressured co2. A new canister filter, the lights are on for 6 hours I'm using flourite excel. And flourish iron dosing once a week. I've got shrimp in my old tank I'm going to add them tonight [​IMG]

    Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk
     
  7. james.dyer13

    james.dyer13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a new system it's been set up for about a month I've got pressured co2. A new canister filter, the lights are on for 6 hours I'm using flourite excel. And flourish iron dosing once a week. I've got shrimp in my old tank I'm going to add them tonight [​IMG]

    Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk
     
  8. fishlover22346

    fishlover22346 Fish Fanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2017
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    4
    I believe adding animals is the natural way, and that there is not anything wrong with it, especially since the tank doesn’t have any fish from what I can see, algae can be caused by many things though, so you need to find out what is causing it.
     
  9. NickAu

    NickAu Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,310
    Likes Received:
    921
    Location:
    AU
    And that belief would be wrong also.
     
  10. fishlover22346

    fishlover22346 Fish Fanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2017
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    4
    and how would that be wrong, the pro and shrimp eat this in their natural habitat, and with an empty tank, they would help, but with that much algae you would probably want to clean it manually.
     

Share This Page