After disasters....What fish next?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

beginner-stressing

Reaction score
I am pretty new to all this so excuse my ignorance!

This is the story so far. I got a small tank form a friend who had given up due to moving so I began by following the books and cycling it for a month letting everything settle.

Now I was ready to add my first fish, 2 dwarf gouramis and four platys. It was going well a month later they were all well settling in, happy fish.

However I went away for a weekend and used the weekend pellets. On my way back I went to the fish shop and bought 6 neons and 2 angel fish to add to the tank.... Disaster struck and when I walked in the door I found all 4 platys dead and the water was terrible. I did a 50% water change and cleaned it out before adding the new fish but I had nowhere to put them so they went in.

The 2 gouramis were fine, but the new fish died one after the other in the space of a week.

After they were left alone the bigger male gourami chased the other until she was dead... SO I was left with one fish which I left in there for a month...

I decided to try again now the tank was settled and bought another female gourami and 2 clown loaches. The male bullied the female so i decided to take her back to avoid the same thing. The loaches are fine.

I was told on the advice of the fish shop to get somethingh to hold its own with the buly gourami so i bought 6 green tiger barbs whihch are doing fine. It all seems good now, but I have made enough bad fish choices and need some advive to maybe add 2 or 3 more fish...

Got any ideas....I think I need hardy fish that wil be suitable for a small tank....