African Violets?

LeviathanGirl

Reaction score
Is there anyone else on the forum here who enjoy growing African Violets as a hobby? I've been growing them for about 7 years now and have had several rare varieties over the years, including chimera violets. Loss of electricity over the winter killed hundreds of my plants and I'm now down to only a handful, but I have a few boxes of leaves and baby plants coming when the weather warms up a little bit more. This year I'm going to be hybridizing them as well as propagating them and already have seed pods maturing from a cross I did between 2 of my favorite plants. I'm very excited and cant wait to see what new varieties the seeds will produce!

I also work with several other houseplants and do some outdoor gardening. This year my fiancee and I will be building a special insulated/heated shed to grow edible mushrooms in. We plan on starting out with Shiitake, Reishi and Oyster mushrooms and then building up to several other species. It will be a new gardening venture for us and we're very excited. I'd appreciate any input anyone experienced can give me on the subject and look forward to sharing info of any kind with my fellow gardeners.

Just for fun and sharing, heres some photos I took of the 2 plants I crossed for my first hybridization project. The one on the left is a chimera violet called Yukako and the one on the right is an older variety called Rhapsody Cora.
yukako-RC.jpg

I dont have a garden but they are lovely flowers :good:

I dont have a garden but they are lovely flowers :good:

Those are small house plants in the UK, Simon. Sure you can keep a few of them :lol:

@LeviathanGirl