Advice on New Tank

bozatron

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

As some of you already know, I am new to keeping tropical freshwater fish. The second hand tank I bought is a blue planet classic 50L, and came overstocked!! So, I am planning on buying a new bigger tank. I am thinking about 100-150L - is that okay for a beginner?

I was hoping to get some advice on what tank to get and whether I should buy a tank that comes with all the accessories (I.e., filter and heater), or if I should start from scratch?

Any recommendations on which tank to get and what filters, heaters, lights, etc. are good would be greatly appreciated!!

This forum has been great so far, so thank you!!

Which country are you in? Tanks and equipment vary from country to country so knowing where you are will help us make suggestions.

Which country are you in? Tanks and equipment vary from country to country so knowing where you are will help us make suggestions.

I'm in Australia, specifically Melbourne if that helps!

I don't know what equipment is available in Australia, but we have several members from there who I'm sure will advise.

I would however suggest you acquire a larger rather than a smaller tank for the space you have. It is always easier to maintain larger tanks because there is less to go terribly wrong quickly with more volume. And no matter what, most of us always want more fish.

I prefer acquiring the tank (sometimes with the light, depending upon what it is) on its own, then buying the filter and heater to suit it and get reliable equipment. The heater is your single most important piece of equipment; a faulty heater can kill a tank of fish by overheating or not heating, overnight.

The filter should be based upon the fish you intend keeping; some need more water current, some none at all, and the filter is what provides this. Live plants help with filtration too.