Advice on keep Amazon Swords?

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Cup o' Joe

Reaction score
I need advice on how to make my swords thrive. This is my first attempt at keeping plants. I have a 16 gallon tank with a standard light and filter. I bought special planted aquarium substrate and in addition have been using root tabs and plant growth solutions. However, while my anubias have been doing fine and the java ferns growing like weeds, I can't seem to get the swords to do well. They're surviving, but a lot of the leaves are turning clear. I heard it might have been a lack of nutrients at first but the root tabs and liquid supplements clearly aren't working. I just don't know what I'm doing wrong. The tank isn't too far from a window so there is plenty of natural and artificial lighting.

I greatly appreciate any advice!

exactly what gravel did you get and what growth solutions have you added. also is your tank cycled and what are your water parameters.

How long have you had the plants? Can you tell us the hardness of your water?

As others have mentioned, we need more data.

Light is you single most important factor. Anubias and Java Fern are both slow growing, which means less light intensity is needed, along with less nutrients. Swords are moderately growing plants (some even fast growing), so that means more light intensity and nutrients. Providing one factor while ignoring another won't do it, as all this has to be in balance. So if the slow growing plants are thriving, it may be the light is not intense enough, to drive the swords.