A Sick Fish

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

keithh143

Reaction score
hello all, I'm new to this so forgive me if this is a silly question.

just started me tank, and added fish about a week ago.
we have 
2 angel fish
1 bala shark
2 white skirted tetra

one of our tetras has started to act a little funny, and is staying away from the other fish.
today we noticed he had some inflamed scales.

from what I've read it could be dropsy. however I'm not sure.

any help would be wonderful,
TIA

Hi there, keith, welcome to the forum.

I'm going to ask a few questions, just to get a better idea of what's going on.

How big is your tank?
Did you add anything to the tank to prepare it for fish?
Have you got any water test kits; if so can you post the numbers for ammonia and nitrite?

Your skirt tetra is what's called 'painted'; although they're not at all painted, they've had dye injected into them through a syringe, in a process similar to tattooing. In the absence of any other issues, I suspect that might have caused the fish's problems, as it looks like the loose scales and lumps correspond to the injection sites.
Many fish don't survive the dying process at all, and those that do commonly have a significantly shortened lifespan along with a whole host of other heath problems directly related to the process. I can only encourage you not to buy these dyed fish in the future.

I know this isn't directly related to your question, but I feel I ought to mention that;

your tank is almost certainly not cycled, so you should have a look in the 'Cycle Your Tank' sub forum for more information on that
skirt tetras are very nippy, if not kept in a group of at least six, so your two are going to cause big trouble for the angel
bala sharks grow very big and also need to be kept in groups; you'd need a six or eight foot tank to be able to keep it healthy and happy.