55Gal Goal Is Planted, Peaceful

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

BeckyCats

Fishaholic
Reaction score
Hello!
I am new to this hobby and am really enjoying it so far. I got a 10 gallon tank several months ago and enjoyed it so much that I wanted to try a larger tank. The 10gal has shrimp and 4 molly fry (long story) and several plants. Everything seems to be going well so far. Hopefully the 55 gallon will work out also.

I started with 50 pounds of play sand which I rinsed in batches outside in a bucket thanks to the unusually warm day we had on Friday. I didn't rinse well enough though apparently, because when I put it in the tank and put some water in, it was cloudy. Thankfully, I have the python filler/drainer hose, so I was able to do a bunch of water changes and it is much clearer now. Then I filled it about halfway figuring it would be easier to plant if it wasn't totally full.

I intended to put in the hardscape elements first and then put in the plants around them, but my LFS got in a shipment of plants and they were on sale, and well, I kind of went a little nuts. According to the tags, I got:

Bacopa monnieri (moneywort)
Ceratopteris thalictroides (water sprite)
Cryptocoryne parva (crypt parva)
Cyrptocoryne spiralis
Echinodorus bleheri (broadleaved Amazon swordplant)
Echinodorus Kleiner Bar (Kleiner bar sword)
Echinodorus ozelot green
Echinodorus tennellus (narrow leaf chain sword)
Eleocharis acicularis (dwarf hair grass)
Glossostigma elatinoides
Marsilea crenata (dwarf four leaf clover)