55 Gallon Goldfish Adventure!

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Raticataticus

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hello friends
biggrin.png

I thought I would do a journal for my new tank. It's a 215L / 55 gallon Aqua One AquaStyle 980.

The measurements are 99cm x 47cm x 50cm (that's a little over 3ft long for all of you non-metrics)

I got it for $688 including the stand and filter (it has one of those filter setups that run thought the top). It was my lucky day. It was advertised as $1000 and something and then they were doing 20% off. Somehow I managed to convince the guy to knock another $20 bucks off the price. And they delivered it too.

This is my first time having something larger than a nano tank, so I am deadset excited.
My plan at the moment is to do fancy goldfish, I really love Orandas and Ranchus. I find them to be super cute.

I am still considering whether or not to have any non-goldfish tank mates. Please feel free to share your thoughts on potential goldfish tank mates.

rsz_aquastyle-850-aquarium-black.jpg

And now for some pictures. 

It looked huge in the packaging 
IMG_2307_zpsa4574d5b.jpg

Here is the cabinet half-built. Yes it was a pain in the neck to build, in case you are wondering. I needed to use a drill to get most of the screws in.

IMG_2302_zps7e8d9415.jpg

And all put together

IMG_2308_zps163b481a.jpg

IMG_2309_zps119c7dad.jpg

I am thinking a black background. I was going to do a bare bottom but because of the padding stuff that comes with it, the base isn't black like I thought it would be. I want to do a sand/fine gravel of some sort but am unsure on the colour. Thoughts?

Sounds exciting! I love that you are considering fancies for this tank, not many people dedicate larger aquariums to goldies.  I'm not sure about tank mates because I'm very under-educated about goldies, but perhaps weather loaches? Of course do research first as I'm not sure they would be compatible.