The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

gabrielle7mc

Reaction score
Hello all! While I'm not *exactly* new to the hobby, after doing a lot of reading I've discovered that I'm new to keeping fish correctly (as in, all those years I was keeping fish as a child, I was basically running to the pet store, thinking 'this is pretty,' and getting extremely lucky that most fish survived with inadequate weekly water changes). Everything was overstocked, I overfed everyone, I once put a krib in with a Bolivian ram... I feel a bit sick at how I treated my fish, and I want to make sure I don't make the mistakes I used to again.

So far, I've got one ten gallon tank with a betta fish (and maybe soon, a mystery snail). Now that I'm back in the hobby, MTS is setting in again. I recently purchased a 29 gallon aquarium, in the hopes of creating an Amazon-themed planted tank. I'm starting the cycling process today, but I was hoping I could get some opinions and suggestions on my planned stocking of the tank.

:thanks:

Here are my water parameters:
pH: 6.4
GH: 100 ppm
KH: 120 ppm

My tank dimensions for the 29 gallons are:
30" long by 12" deep by 18" high.

So far, I know I'd like to include:
1 angelfish
1 Bolivian ram
6 peppered or bronze corydoras

I've never had a tank with sand substrate, or a planted tank, but I want to make sure I'm not putting the corys at risk of breaking their barbs, and I've read that angels prefer heavily planted tanks.

Are there any other fish I should consider keeping with these, or does this max out my tank? I've never had problems with rams and corys (in the past I kept far too few corys at once; they subsequently adopted the ram and schooled with him), but will there be trouble between these two bottom-dwellers? Do you have any advice in general for keeping these three fish types? I really just want to do the best I can for them.

Thanks in advance!