1St African Cichlid Tank - Suggestions Please ?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

joanne_464

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Just got my new tank, Regency 80-180 litres, so Ive decided to try something new and start an african cichlid tank. I have no fish in it at the moment, just stacked ocean rock I am waiting for my PH to buff up a little bit. So I am looking for any suggestions as to which fish to get.. ?

Any suggestions or recommendations please.. ???

What sort of thing do you like ?
Your tank is twicw the size of mine , would you consider a Tanganyika set up or would it be more Yellow labs type of thing ?

What sort of thing do you like ?
Your tank is twicw the size of mine , would you consider a Tanganyika set up or would it be more Yellow labs type of thing ?

I have no idea lol im new to this i like colourful fish, bigish fish.. are tanganyikan the more aggressive ones ??

Generally less aggressive, but still aggressive on the whole. Just in smaller sizes..

There's plenty with colour, but not quite on the same scale as Malawi.. still, do some searching and see for yourself, then check what's available near you. Plenty of spunk and activity in there to keep you interested too.

Quick inspirational image search:

malawi_3.jpg

8foot_aquarium1.jpg

pict0934h.jpg

multipunks.jpg

Amazon-sword-plant.jpg

348555.jpg

STEF3%20copy.jpg

403ezstyle1.jpg

aquarium01252009.JPG

Google be your friend!

Thanks guys there really nice looking fish I really like that one third from the bottom

180 litres (~45 US gallons) isn't a huge amount of space. So you will want to think very carefully about what you stock. Many of the Malawian cichlids tend to become hyperdominant in small aquaria, and you can easily end up with one bullying male, a bunch of constantly breeding females, some battered (or dead) males, and untold numbers of hybrid fry. This isn't what you want at all.