100% Beginner Need Help Asap

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

minusbfold462

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Please help lol I'm having an anxiety attack. I have new tank syndrome,I had no idea how to start a tank and bought all the stuff and put fish in immediately. I had no clue there was a science to it and after googling I feel like giving up. I have 7 fish and a 10 gallon tank, I have two tiger barbs, 3 orange fish with black tails and I think two tetra, I had a betta before with just the tetra and it passed away, I had a bottom feeder fish that passed away after a few days of being put in the tank :( I'm new to this and I feel really bad about it I'm so sorry. My Fish seem to be hanging around the very top and bottom of the tank, I did a full water change once which was a bad idea, but the water looks super cloudy and when the bottom feeder fish passed I figured a 75% change a few days ago would keep the others from passing away, I brought in a water sample to the pet shop and he said my nitrites or nitrates were super high and to do a 25% change tomorrow. I have no clue what I'm doing and my fish look Ill I dont want them to get sick or lose another one because I suck at life lol. Please guide me on what to do but please remember I'm new so if you can explain it step by step and in clear instructions, I tried reading other forums but everyone starts to stray away from the topic or they talk about the science and I get really confused:( please for the health of my fish please helpI'm sorry for my run on sentences I'm just really freaked out lol and I care about the welfare of these fish I feel awful

Welcome to the forum; try not to panic!

I'll try and keep it simple for you!

What's happening is that the poisons in the fish's wee and poo are building up in the tank and making the fish sick.

You need to change nearly all the water, every day.