Yellow spots?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Jezah

Jezah

Fish Crazy

• 261 posts

Posted 11 February 2005 - 09:28 AM

My 3 month old dalmatian molly fry have recently developed some weird BIG yellow spots on them. Its not velvet I dont think, as they are big spot and the babies are healthy besides the spots. I am going to give the babies a concentrated salt bath for like 30 min, anyone have any idea what it could be?

#2 Ava_Banana

Ava_Banana

Fishaholic

• 569 posts

Posted 11 February 2005 - 10:04 AM

I have been breeding with Dalmation Mollies for the last 10 months or so.........

......quite a few of them have yellow/gold areas on their bodies.........

.......I put this down to breeding colouration.........you don't know what they have in their "lines".

This is a picture of one of my mollies...............it isn't that noticeable, but she does have a few tiny gold patches........

........which have been more prevalent amongst her fry......
Posted Image

Personally..........unless it looked like there was a problem..........I wouldn't mess with the water......

.....however, if the Mollies are on their own....... a little salt will only help.........

#3 Jezah

Jezah

Fish Crazy

• 261 posts

Posted 11 February 2005 - 10:32 AM

OH! That makes total sense since I have several other fish in the tank and none of the others have spots! Huh, interesting. I never knew yellow spots came naturally to some mollies. I already have some salt in the tank, but I gave the babies a extra concentrated dip just in case. They yellow spots didnt go away, which apparently would have happened if it had been velvet. So its probably what you said. I wonder if the spots will stay with them through adulthood..

#4 Ava_Banana

Ava_Banana

Fishaholic

• 569 posts

Posted 11 February 2005 - 10:50 AM